Anthony M. Grandinetie

FAQ

Q: Am I required to appear in court for my traffic tickets?

A: In most cases we are able to resolve your traffic tickets without requiring your personal appearance in court—saving you time, aggravation, and money. Some summonses will require that you send us documents such as proof that your car was registered or insured. The exchange of those documents can almost always be handled by mail or email.

Q: Do I need a lawyer for a speeding ticket?

A:Technically you do not need a lawyer. However, we highly recommend you retain a lawyer for any speeding tickets. More than any other type of traffic infraction, insurance companies disdain speeding tickets. We can often avoid a plea to a speeding ticket altogether by negotiating a plea to a less serious offense, thereby significantly reducing your exposure to points, which can lead to license suspensions, insurance premium increases, and significant fines. Quite often we are successful in avoiding points altogether if your license is reasonably clean.

Q: Which courts do your lawyers cover?

A: We appear in every court in Nassau and Suffolk County including courts in all incorporated villages and towns throughout Long Island.

Q: Will my insurance rates go up if I get convicted of a moving violation?

A: Any conviction for a moving violation will appear on your New York State driving record. If you are insured in New York, moving violations can certainly adversely affect your insurance. Under Insurance Law § 2335, speeds of 15 mph or less over the limit (i.e. 80 in a 65), should not affect your rates. Additionally, having one "other" moving violation should not affect your rates. However, insurance companies may not always follow the law, or may attempt to circumvent it if they consider you an insurance risk. It is always best to have a clean driving record and the best way to achieve that goal and keep your insurance rates low, is to hire a lawyer well-versed in traffic law. Remember, five years of higher premiums is far more expensive than a fine for a reduced plea bargain to a non-moving violation.

Q: How does the New York point system work?

A: When you get convicted of a moving violation the DMV documents your points on your New York State driving record. Moving violations are at least two points, with most being three points or more. Speeding violations range from three to eleven points. New York recently added a new surcharge of $100 per year for three years if you get six points, plus an additional $25 per year for each additional point. That works out to $300 for six points, $450 for eight points, and $600 for ten points. We can direct you to point-reduction courses in the event you have excess points on your driver's license. See our NY Point System page for an outline of the New York State DMV point system.

Q: What if I don’t believe I ran a red light and want to discuss my case with someone?

A: You may always request to conference your red light ticket. However, unlike other citations, a red light citation is not subject to discretionary reduction. You cannot plead to a lesser offense and the fine cannot be reduced.

Q: What if I wasn’t in the vehicle at the time?

A: According to New York State Laws, the owner and/or registrant are legally responsible to pay the fine without regard to whether they were actually driving the vehicle at the time of the infraction.

Q: If I am already in the intersection when a light turns red, will I get a citation?

A: No. But remember, a yellow light before red is a warning for the driver to slow down and prepare to stop. Entering or being in an intersection anytime on a red signal is dangerous. Citations, theoretically, are only issued when a vehicle enters the intersection AFTER the light has turned red.

Q: Will my insurance rates go up if I get a red light camera ticket?

A: Red Light camera violations are different than tickets issued by a police officer because the camera lacks the capability to identify the driver. Accordingly, the car owner receives the summons by mail, and is responsible for the fines and any additional court fees, regardless of who personally drove the vehicle at the time. However, no points are assessed to anyone’s driver’s license and no notification is made to insurance companies.